Surviving a Deceitful World

I’m not sharing this to show off my kid or myself as a parent somehow… but because it is a GIFT to see how the knowledge of the Love of God can move the HEART/MIND of anyone. 

I was reading an account from the Bible to my 4-yr old son and someone died (from old age):

“Mommy… why do people die?!?!?”

“Well, you have to think back to Adam and Eve… they were the very first people God made. But they sinned. And the wages of sin are….”

“…Death.”

“Right. So, I have to explain something to you. You know, the way God made us, we are programmed to inherit certain traits from our parents… for example… if someone is tall, short, has blue eyes, brown eyes, etc. God programmed this information in something called DNA, so we are similar to our parents somehow.”

“Also, I look like my sister.”

“Yes! Because you have the same parents! Good. So when Adam and Eve sinned, they acquired DEATH into that information they were passing down. So now their children had death, and their children’s children had death, and so on, until the whole world was full of people who had death in their nature.”

(At this point my son is looking pretty sad.)

“But!” I continued, “God so loved the world that He sent JESUS to BEAT DEATH! So anyone who believes, loves and obeys Jesus will not have the curse of death, and we will have new bodies and we will live forever with Him! But for now, we are born, we grow, we become old, and then we die. People are still dying because of sin. That is why sin is so bad—it separates us from God.”

And that was the end of my explanation. I thought our conversation was over, since I provided the information he was inquiring about. But then I see him enumerating something with his fingers, and saying things like:
-I hit.
-I took something without asking.
-I told a lie.
-I broke a plant that wasn’t mine.
-I had bad thoughts.
-I said words of curse.

Etc. Like 15 things… It took me a little while to figure out what he was doing. 

“D… are you confessing your sins?”

“Uh-huh.”

“Okay, that’s very good. Now you just have to ask God to forgive you and He will. The Bible says that God forgives us when we confess our sins.”

“Okay, I’ll be right back. I’m going to do it in my room.”

When he returned we hugged and praised Jesus for His Goodness and Love. 

Later, I hear him tell his dad during bath time that God forgave him and now he’s going to try to be good. ♥ ♥ ♥

Comments on: "Why Do People Die?: Response to a Four-year Old" (2)

  1. hi,can I have your e-mail address?I am looking for the truth and would like to ask you some things

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

