Surviving a Deceitful World

ANGUS T. JONES, the young actor from the CBS show “Two anAngus T. Jones on "Two And A Half Men"d a Half Men,” recently made headlines for a video in which he gave his testimony after converting to Christianity and, shortly thereafter, to Seventh-Day Adventism. In it, he also called the show “filth” and urged viewers to stop watching it. The video went viral and there was no shortage of media implying or straight-out saying he is “young and confused,” “crazy,” “ungrateful,” and, most of all, “a hypocrite.” Why? Well, because (they keep quoting) he makes somewhere between $300 and $350k per episode and, if he was really sincere about his stance against “filth,” he would be giving all that money back.

So, I am going to give you my unsolicited two cents simply because I care about Angus as a Brother in Christ, and because I used to be a Seventh-Day Adventist.

I must admit that when I watched the video, I was very excited to hear his testimony. Then I cringed a little when “the Forerunner” said he could “really” call him brother because Angus had accepted…. “the Sabbath.” My jaw dropped a little bit (ok, a lot) because I was fully expecting to hear “JESUS CHRIST”…. not “the Sabbath.” But, you know what? I am truly rejoicing for him because He is choosing to go after God the best way that he knows. And that is what we should all be doing: Keep going, even if we stumble, even if we’re wrong in some area, KEEP GOING after the Kingdom of God, and trust that He will finish the work He started in us. 

REVELATION 12:10 Then I heard a loud voice in heaven, saying, “Now the salvation, and the power, and the kingdom of our God and the authority of His Christ have come, for the accuser of our brethren has been thrown down, he who accuses them before our God day and night.

It is to be expected that the world attack him, that they mock him, that they call him names. It’s “the world,” and it belongs to satan. He is “the accuser,” and it’s what he does through people. So, everyone of you out there flinging mud at Angus, now you know you are being used to do the work of satan. Think on that. 

But, see… I’ve also seen Christians attack Angus… saying he’s not a true Christian. Why? Because he’s still on the show as of now and not giving the money back? No. Because he’s become a Seventh-Day Adventist. 

“Seventh-Day Adventism is work-based salvation,” they say. “It’s a cult,” they say. “He’s deceived,” they say. Well, I’m certainly not going to stand here and tell you Seventh-Day Adventism is the best thing since sliced bread. Obviously, I would still be a Seventh-Day Adventist if I thought it was the truth. The truth is that Seventh-Day Adventism IS a religion. Just like many other “Christian denominations” are a religion. “Do this, or don’t do that (according to our interpretation) to keep God happy.” That’s religion in a nutshell. But you know something? There are plenty of Seventh-Day Adventists who love the Lord Jesus with all their hearts and who do these things they think are pleasing to God out of sheer love for Him. I know this for a fact first-hand. And it is OUR HEARTS that God is interested in. Not the correctness of our theologies. 

Do I think there is something better out there than Seventh-Day Adventism? Yes, but it’s not a different “more correct” denomination. It’s called seeking the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness. It’s called “My sheep hear My Voice; I know them and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them and they will never perish and no one will snatch them out of My hand.” That is the only Truth there is. Believe it or not, many Seventh-Day Adventists know this call from the Lord much better than other Christians with “more sound” theologies. 

The fact is, God has His people in every “denomination.” One day He will call them out Himself. 

In the meantime, let us not join “the accuser.” 

May the Lord Jesus bless and keep you, Angus, and may His Holy Spirit guide you always. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

