Surviving a Deceitful World

SO, MY BABY WOKE UP from her nap… crying! She is teething and she is hungry! I had yet to wash her bottle, and I’m looking for it in my tiny kitchen (yes, I was looking for a specific bottle). Can’t find it. I look in every room in the house. Can’t find it.

I start to get irritated. My baby is crying her little eyes out. My 3-yr old is yelling something about “chocolate.”

Where is that bottle!!! My husband. He fed her last before going to work. He’s always losing things–where did he leave that bottle? 

[Holy Spirit steps in]

Oh, wait… I’m the one who had it last. Oops. [conviction:] I’m wrong to act like this. I need to stop blaming my husband. I need to stop blaming him as a knee-jerk reaction every time something has been misplaced. [repentance]

Instantly. INSTANTLY, I see the bottle–right in front of my line of vision, where I had looked at least 4 times. But I was blind to it. I thought I knew where I should be looking for it, but I did not have the eyes to see just 3 inches above. Until the Holy Spirit granted me repentance… even for something so simple.

It’s not good morals. It’s not our own goodness. Repentance is the super-naturally granted desire to want to please God, who is worthy of all honor through our actions, thoughts, and attitudes. Repentance is: I was going this way (pleasing myself), and I now turn around to go in the opposite direction (pleasing God)… and I keep walking that Way until I have finished the course.

I can’t help to be shocked at the realization of my blindness, short of repenting. But it’s not about finding a bottle or my car keys. It’s about finding true Life in Jesus Christ.

Without repentance, we think we see.

We think we know.

We think we live.

But we miss it.

The lifting of the veil over our hearts and minds is a supernatural work of the Holy Spirit of Jesus Christ. If you don’t know Jesus personally*, you are blind, deceived, and dead inside. Ask the Lord Jesus to show you that He is who He said He is. If you have not repented and you are not born again in your spirit (even if you “already go to church”), you are missing true life… and you don’t even see it!

He is utterly Holy. But He does not want you to perish, so He made ONE Way, which is the Lord Jesus. Seek Him on your knees while He may be found.

May the Lord Jesus bless you and keep you in His Peace. Seek after Him while you can!

 

Comments on: "Has This Ever Happened to YOU? Hope so." (1)

  1. Reblogged this on Red Letter Dad and commented:
    Loved this part of the story.
    “Without repentance, we think we see.
    We think we know.
    We think we live.
    But we miss it.
    The lifting of the veil over our hearts and minds is a supernatural work of the Holy Spirit of Jesus Christ.”
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

