Surviving a Deceitful World

I came from a religious experience where I came to believe all I had to do was go to the right people to tell me the bullet points of what I was supposed to do to cash in on salvation. My belief in the

Lord Jesus was a mental exercise… nothing more than a transaction (Sign here… there’s your fire insurance).

And I could read verses like:
Matthew 28:20 (b)” and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world.” And be like, Yeah… that’s nice. It’s pretty inspirational. Okay, now I go on with MY life. See ya next week when I punch in my attendance card.

When I came out of that, disillusioned… I felt disoriented, like there was no one to tell me what to do to appease God. There was this one time when I was reading my Bible, and I got so frustrated, not understanding, that I threw it to the ground. I remember saying, “That’s it! I don’t know what You want from me!”

Only back then I didn’t know what it meant when it says that God is FAITHFUL. Because, despite ME, He supernaturally opened my heart to the realization of His Holiness and that the Lord Jesus is ALIVE, having overcome death, after shedding His precious blood for the wretched person that I was.

And I don’t have to spend the rest of my life in confusion, because He promised us that we would have a Guide to help us navigate through life, and that guide is His HOLY SPIRIT.

John 14:15-18
“If ye love me, keep my commandments. And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you forever; even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth Him not, neither knoweth Him; but ye how Him; for He dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.”

Comments on: "How am I supposed to know…?" (2)

  1. At times it is best to take a step back from the conflict and simply observe the mind.

  2. That is a good point… I used to be a person led by my emotions. When we are more collected, we are better able to make more rational decisions. I praise God I now know the most rational decision is to go to the Lord Jesus in all matters! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

