Surviving a Deceitful World

Hearing Voices (Part I)

DO YOU APPRECIATE YOUR HEARING? What would your life be like if you couldn’t hear:

Silent_voices_2–The voice of the people you love the most?

–The sound of waves crashing?

–The laughter of children and the chirping of birds?

–Anyone calling your name… ever?

I really like hearing. I liked it even more after I took some audiology classes and learned how to measure people’s hearing… there are so many factors which can affect the quality of our hearing mechanism:

–Age, disease, exposure to loud noises, ear wax impaction, congenital defects, etc.

There are also conditions such as tinnitus, where you hear an incessant ringing. All. The. Time. Some people kill themselves because of it. I kid you not. And, of course, some people suffer from psychogenic deafness… it’s… well… in their heads.

Interestingly, there are certain limits to human hearing. We can only hear frequencies ranging from approximately 20 to 20,000 Hz. Below or beyond that range our brain does not recognize the frequency as sound. Which begs the question, if 30,000Hz is heard by a human, does it really make a sound? Hmph…

Okay, so this is all very interesting, but where am I going with this?

I was thinking about the verse where Jesus talks about His voice:

(John 10:27)  “My sheep know my voice, and they know Me, and they follow Me.”

How exactly is it that we hear the voice of JESUS???  Does it come from thin air while we’re praying? I concluded that this would really, really, really freak me out. I mean, I would LOVE to know what Jesus’ voice sounds like, but if I just started hearing a voice out of nowhere, I would probably have a heart attack. Even if they tell me that hearing voices is “normal“.

So, then, what’s the answer?

[To Be Continued… here]

Comments on: "Hearing Voices (Part I)" (1)

  1. […] June 22, 2010 by theophilus777 Leave a Comment (Please read PART I first.) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

