Surviving a Deceitful World

please-do-not-feed-the-hoboken-trolls.jpgRECENTLY, MY POSTING of this verse as my FB status grated someone the wrong way:

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. – Deuteronomy 31:6

Basically, this person took issue with how we can trust God when in the OT, He commanded the killing of “innocent people,” and finished the exchange declaring that God should be put on trial for war crimes. I have to confess that, at times, it is difficult for me to have a loving attitude toward people when I hear things that sound nonsensical like this. With their trolling, this person was asking me to come up with some kind of defense for God to PROVE that what we say about God (that He is loving, compassionate, patient, etc.) is actually true. My natural impulse reaction is to throw my hands up in despair and roll my eyes. “Will people ever stop being sooo LAZY?!?!” I think, “Why don’t they take the time to SEEK OUT the answer instead of come to my FB home and drop off inflammatory remarks?” So, I did not respond so graciously the first time. That was wrong of me, so I apologized and provided more of a proper response.

Thing is, I understand why they say this, because I used to think that way. I would just think, “Well, this doesn’t add up and I don’t understand this and that, so why should I be held accountable for believing in something that doesn’t make sense!” This is moral and spiritual laziness. I think we all have different issues that are important to us. For me, God’s orders for the killing of certain peoples has never been an area which caused me to question God or His methods, so I honestly don’t give it much importance in my trust for God. But, clearly, others do. I don’t say all this to say, “Oh, look at me, I’m so great now.” I say it to testify as to the power of God. In as much as He shows us grace and mercy, He will also show us Truth.

We don’t understand everything about God with our human minds. It’s not a cop-out, it’s just the truth. Although, if we actually took the time to research the particular topic in question, we would learn that the situation was NOT the outcome of a capricious god… it was the outcome of people living in rebellion against God. This is a good, short video about it: CLICK.

But, because there will always be things which we do not understand, we must seek Him a bit more each day. I think there’s a reason why Revelation says that, one day, the mystery of God will be revealed. Some things about God ARE a mystery. But if I have a question, I research it and I pray about it. God will answer. He “doesn’t answer” when we cover our eyes and shield our ears.

Trust is difficult to yield. It means giving up control, and that is difficult to our pride and “intellect.” God has been showing me that I can trust Him, not only through the historical records of the Biblical accounts, but in the ways He manifests Himself in my personal everyday life. I trust that my Heavenly Father will continue to refine me and to create in me a clean heart, so that I can have a loving attitude toward all, even those that grate ME the wrong way. All praise be to our Creator, in Whom we can trust completely!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

